Los Alamos National Laboratory Home PageSearch for people in the Lab's phone bookSearch the Laboratory's Web site

Chemistry Division Director Alfred ("Al") Sattelberger Elected AAAS Fellow

Alfred P. Sattelberger of the Department of Energy's Los Alamos National Laboratory has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).Sattleberger fellow's prize image

Leader of Los Alamos' Chemistry Division, Sattelberger was elected a Fellow by the AAAS Council for his "distinguished contributions to early transition metal and actinide chemistry and for building an outstanding inorganic chemistry program at Los Alamos National Laboratory."

AAAS is a nonprofit professional society dedicated to the advancement of scientific and technological excellence across all disciplines, and to the public's understanding of science and technology. AAAS membership comprises more than 134,000 scientists, engineers, science educators, policymakers and other professionals worldwide.

As a Fellow, Sattelberger joins an elite group of more than 10,000 of the nation's leading researchers. He will be honored this coming February in Denver, during the AAAS Fellows Forum, part of the organization's annual meeting.

"I am honored that my peers in AAAS have recognized my work in this way," Sattelberger said. "I share this award with my mentors, colleagues and collaborators. I'd also like to acknowledge the Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, & Biosciences Division in DOE's Office of Basic Energy Sciences for their generous support of inorganic chemistry research at Los Alamos."

Sattelberger received his doctorate from Indiana University in inorganic chemistry and was a National Science Foundation postdoctoral fellow at Case Western Reserve University before joining the chemistry department faculty at the University of Michigan. He moved to Los Alamos in 1984, working as a staff member in the Isotope and Nuclear Chemistry Division.

Since 1988, he has held various leadership positions at Los Alamos, including deputy division leader for the Isotope and Nuclear Chemistry Division; deputy director and later director for Science and Technology Base Programs; and director of Energy Research Programs. His research interests include actinide coordination and organometallic chemistry, technetium chemistry, multiple metal-metal bonding, and transition metal allyl chemistry.

Los Alamos' Chemistry Division numbers over 400 people with an annual budget in excess of $85 million. Seven technical groups support a range of programs in analytical, inorganic, physical, and environmental chemistry, catalysis, nanoscience, nuclear chemistry, radiochemistry, separations science, medical radioisotopes, and nuclear physics.

Los Alamos National Laboratory is operated by the University of California for the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) of the U.S. Department of Energy and works in partnership with NNSA's Sandia and Lawrence Livermore national laboratories to support NNSA in its mission.

Los Alamos enhances global security by ensuring the safety and reliability of the U.S. nuclear stockpile, developing technologies to reduce threats from weapons of mass destruction, and solving problems related to energy, environment, infrastructure, health and national security concerns.
Additional news about Los Alamos is available online at www.lanl.gov/worldview/news.

Bill Dupuy, Public Relations Specialist, CER-20
505-665-9179, wdupuy@lanl.gov
November 12, 2002

More Research Highlights

Chemistry Highlights - Sattelberger Elected Fellow


Operated by Los Alamos National Security, LLC
Terms and Conditions of Use | Web contact chemistry@lanl.gov |


NOTICE: Information from this server resides on a computer system funded by the U.S. Department of Energy. Anyone using this system consents to monitoring of this use by system or security personnel.

spacer spacer spacer spacer